Забыли пароль?

О группе


The Ultimate Remix Album (Press Release)

13 августа 2004

The Ultimate Remix Album

Depeche Mode Remixes 81-04
Released October 25th on Mute Records
Released October 26th on Reprise Records

Depeche Mode - Dave Gahan, Martin Gore, Andy Fletcher - are unique. For nearly 25 years they have been making groundbreaking music, which has influenced generations of artists.

Depeche Mode have always been at the vanguard of remix culture since its inception, and the history of Depeche Mode is inextricably linked with the history of the remix. Very early on in their career the band worked closely and extensively with up and coming remixers who would go on to become pivotal figures in the field including Francois Kevorkian, Adrian Sherwood, William Orbit, Portishead and Air.

"Remixes 81-04" is a 2-disc set spanning over 20 years of Depeche Mode's pioneering remixes. Almost a greatest hits collection, the album is a compendium of Depeche Mode classics remixed by some of the best remixers in the world, including Underworld, Goldfrapp, Air, Kruder and Dorfmeister, Timo Maas, Flood and of course Depeche Mode themselves. It is also released as a limited edition triple disc set, featuring a bonus disc of highly collectable and rare remixes. At once a celebration but also an historical record of the evolution of the remix, the album is a fascinating and deeply rewarding document of an emerging art form.

Highlights include a brand new remix of "Halo" by Goldfrapp, "Barrel Of A Gun" by Underworld, "Home" remixed by Air as well as a new mix of "Enjoy The Silence" by Linkin Park's Mike Shinoda.

The limited edition bonus CD features remixes of "A Question of Lust" by Flood and "World In My Eyes" by Daniel Miller plus a William Orbit mix of "Walking In My Shoes" and a Danny Tenaglia mix of the hypnotic and seductive "I Feel Loved". Also included are brand new mixes by Goldfrapp, Ulrich Schnauss, Colder and Rex the Dog.

The release of this album will be preceded by the single, "Enjoy The Silence", featuring mixes by Mike Shinoda, Timo Maas and Ewan Pearson, plus additional tracks mixed by LFO, Blackstrobe, Goldfrapp and Headcleaner. The single is released October 18th on Mute Records (October 19th on Reprise Records).

"Depeche Mode is one of the most influential groups of our time", says Mike Shinoda on one of his favourite bands, "Their music is an inspiration to me, and I am excited for our fans to hear my take on one of my favourite Depeche Mode songs."

Alison Goldfrapp adds: "Depeche Mode are the only electronic band to have risen above their own genre and it was a privilege to have worked on such a great track".

A sentiment echoed by Timo Maas; "We were proud to be asked to remix, "Enjoy The Silence".... but Depeche Mode are a seminal band and the track is one of the top 10 all time classics... it wasn't easy when the melodies are burned in your brain. I think it worked out pretty well though".

"It's a dangerous business messing with the classics", confides Ewan Pearson, "I always swore blind I'd never do a remix of something I loved so much, but of course, when you're asked it's impossible to say no. "Enjoy the Silence" is one of my favourite singles of all time - I still have my battered 7 inch copy and I guess its one of the reasons why I decided to make music myself in the first place."

Martin Gore reflecting on the Depeche Mode remix era said, "It's an amazing feeling to sit back and listen to such an interesting mix of artists take the spirit of Depeche Mode and add another dimension".

Наш партнер - EkoMobile - Сервис-провайдер Rambler's Top100